Julius Bennett Will: A Brunswick Co., VA to Wake Co., NC Connection

In a previous post, we mentioned 1790 records from Brunswick County, Virginia. Those records were discussed in a discussion post elsewhere on the Internet as involving a case brought by Absolem Bennett, as plaintiff, against Benjamin Phipps, Robert Westmoreland, and Joseph Phipps as plaintiffs.

The case concerned Martha Duncan of North Carolina and Mary Wright of Wake County, North Carolina. The discussion post in another forum then referred to the 1807 Wake County, North Carolina will of Julius Bennett.

Our previous post in this blog said that this Julius was presumably related to Absolem Bennett. An examination of the handwritten will makes it clear that Julius specifically refers to Absalom Bennett as his father. The will mentions Mary Wright, as mentioned in the discussion forum, and a Susanna Duncan. (The forum entry referred to a Martha Duncan.)

This will, plus the records of the court case (not yet examined first-hand), appear to connect a Phipps family in Wake County, North Carolina with Brunswick County, Virginia.

The Bennett will was found after deciding to examine Wake and Johnston Counties, North Carolina records, after finding online suggestions that George Reeves, who frequently seems to enter into the Samuel Phipps/Ashe County picture somewhere, is said to have spent some time in those two counties before moving into the New River area around 1767.

From Wake County, North Carolina Wills, Inventories, Settlements, 1808-1809, Vol. 8, pp. 13-14:

[p. 13:]

In the name of God amen this 17th [or 19th?] day of November One thousand eight hundred and seven I Julius D Bennett of Wake County and State of No Carolina being weak of Body but of sound disposing mind & memory thank God for the same and as it is appointed for all men once to die do make and ordain this my last will and Testament in manner and form following to wit. Principally & first of all I give and recommend my soul to god who gave it and my Body to be Buried in a decent christianlike manner at the discretion of my Exrs hereafter named and as to my worldly goods wherewith it has pleased god to bless me with in this life I give and dispose of in the following manner & form ([SSE?]) And first my desire is that all my just debts be paid out of my personal property by my Executors

Item My will and desire is that my Father and Mother have and Possess my land and Plantation in peace and quietness during their lives, after their dec[s? (presumably abbreviation for “decease”)] my will is that my land be sold & the money arising there from be equally divided among Susanna Proctor daughter of Thomas Proctor Susanna Duncan, and Polley Phipps

Item my further desire is that my stock of Cattle Hogs & my bay Horse be sold and the money arising from such sale by applied as followeth (to wit) Nine Dollars I give to my loving Niece Betsey Wright the Balance of sd. money arising from sd. sales my will and desire is that it be equally divided between my loving Sisters Susanna Sexton Nancey Bennett and Becca Bennett.

[p. 14:]

Item. My will and desire is that my bed with all the rest of my house hold property and plantation utensils with my crop now on hand be sold at the discretion of my Executors and after all my Just Debts be paid as aforesaid the balance arising from said sale if any be equally divided divided [sic; word repeated] between Mary Wright and Elizabeth Phipps

Item. And my will and desire is that my Bay mare bridle and Saddle should be sold and the money arising from such sale by equally divided between my loving Sisters (to wit) Mary Wright Susanna Sexton Becca Bennett and Nancey Bennett .

And lastly I do hereby appoint and ordain to this my last will and Testament utterly revoking & disannuling all former Wills and Testaments heretofore and appoint my affectionate Father Absalom Bennett & my trusty friend David [gustice?] Executors of this my last will and testament – In Witness whereof I hereunto set my hand and affix my seal this day and date first above writen [sic; written].

[signed:] Julius D Bennett (seal)

Signd & acknowledged in the presents [sic; presence] of us
[signed:]
Benjamin Tarver (Jurat)
Abigail Spain

Wake County Court may Term 1808
The within Will was in open Court duly proven by the Oath of Benjamin Tarver a witness thereto and Ordered to be recorded.

[signed:] Wm. Hill Clk

One thought on “Julius Bennett Will: A Brunswick Co., VA to Wake Co., NC Connection

  1. Do you know why Julius Bennett would want his land to be sold after his parent’s death and divided between Polly Phipps, Susanna Proctor and Susanna Duncan? It is family lore that Thomas Proctor left Brunswick County to live in Wake Co. NC. His son, Thomas Proctor, Jr. moved to Wilson County, TN in 1807. Do you have any information on this Proctor family?

    Thank you,

    Gina Proctor Teague

Leave a comment